Arctic Jade – Agonist

I’ve been wanting to sample this line for ages and with my last purhcase in Berlin (I’ll be talking to you all about my splurges once I get back :P !), I got a couple of minis from the Agonist house.

Arctic Jade

Arctic Jade opens with a hit of cool anise and a sweetened eucalyptus/lavender effect made tart by juicy oranges. It’s lovely: herbal, bitter sweet and ice cold with some florals underneath making it a little more “perfume-y”.

The florals I struggle to define. There’s the merest hint of ylang ylang that seems to dominate, with a subtle rose and jasmine below it. As they get stronger, they push away the more herbaceous aspect and diminish the anise effect completely. It’s at this point where Arctic Jade has a slight struggle between its personality and temperature – it doesn’t quite have the right flow but, I go along with it anyway.

It turns a touch soapy and I guess a little orange blossom is to blame, but yet again, I don’t really mind it. The super-clean orange blossom and the rose then take the lead and Arctic Jade yet again tries to find its feet, with each ingredient taking it in turn to be at the front of the composition.

The cool, clean, floral soap gets subtle quite quickly, and sweetens as a rich vanilla joins in. I really like Agonists’ use of vanilla – their Vanilla Marble (yet to review) is one of my favourite vanilla representations ever. It’s sweet and “cakey” – with an almost icing sugar like consistency. A berry-fruitiness (raspberry?) adds a tart quality to the vanilla, a surprisingly playful twist considering the stern quality of the opening: I like that! However, it’s not let loose into fully blown gourmand territory due to a sandalwood/patchouli duo that keeps it more on a classical side.

Here, the fragrance gets what I’d pretty much describe as “boring” – as the musky (slightly chlorinated) sweet vanilla and woods overpower the florals and interesting herbs, along with a subtle amber warmth. But, it’s undeniable that Arctic Jade is ridiculously comfortable and easy to wear. I’d almost consider it full bottle worthy were it not for the large price tag (although major kudos to them for releasing these in more affordable and still beautiful bottles) – the reason being: I’d wear it a ton. Once it dries down (which is very quickly), the cool vanilla-laden base is smooth, clean, comfortable and subtle, and yet just about charming and interesting enough for me to want to wear it – something that is missing in my collection.
Not particularly ground-breaking – but recommended if it sounds like your sort of thing, surprisingly – it’s mine! :D

Arctic Jade

Arctic Jade 50ml EDP Agonist – 125 Euros ausliebezumduft.de

Tagged , , , ,

17 thoughts on “Arctic Jade – Agonist

  1. Chris says:

    Great review, Freddie

    Have you tried agonist’s Black Amber ?

    • I have a sample of it – but haven’t actually tried it. I hope the salted seaweed accord is prominent. I’ll be sure to write about it soon! What were your thoughts on it? Have you tried much of the Agonist line?
      Thanks Chris x

  2. Chris says:

    Hi Freddie
    I haven’t actually tried any of the argonist’s yet. I just found out that they are on sale in London and i have been trying to find some reviews on them. Black Amber would be the one that appeals to me the most, as i am a huge incense fan, but the few reviews that i can find are only so-so about it.

    • Well, after your comment, I sprayed it on before bed last night – not impressed, the least interesting of the line I’ve tried so far sorry :( Haha. But still try to explore the line, none of them seem like, “mindblowing” but they’re decent and worth a sniff. I’ll write about Black Amber in full over the next couple days!

  3. The only exposure I had to this line was Black Amber and upon sniffing it, I felt like somebody was throwing a brick at me. Maybe it’s better on the skin??!

  4. They are expensive, but they are nice. The Infidels has been my favorite so far, but I haven’t tried all of them. Thankfully they have the fragrances in non-sculptured glass bottles. Not that it makes them more affordable, but comparatively, it’s a bargain — a sick luxury bargain ;-)

    • Haha! Yeh, and I really like the cheaper bottles… I got some presents for my birthday so I have more money to spend on holiday :P I think I might just pick up Arctic Jade today :O
      I wore my sample out last night and the scent it leaves on my clothes is amazzzzzing.

      • That’s so great! Get it, says Daisy the perfume enabler!

        Those Kosta Boda sculpture bottles are so pretty, but I’m afraid that my apartment is too shabby to own one . . . if I had the money to own one :-)

      • Definitely! Haha – it would just look out of place unless EVERYTHING else matched :P I think I might pick this up you know, I’ve visited so many perfume stores in Paris today and I’ve only bought one thing for myself!! May hunt this one out :P And a 50ml Aziyade becuase I’ve sniffed that about three more times today and I NEED IT

      • Aziyade? I see that you are going low-brow, my friend :-)

      • Low-brow?? What do you mean? :P Cheap?
        Haha, I love it though D: !

      • Well, comparatively speaking . . . :-)

      • Ahhh, yeh I know :P But you can’t get the 50ml bottles in the UK! So, think I need to pick it up whilst it’s so cheap!

      • Do it! I love smaller bottles. Larger ones are just so intimidating to get through (Dior Collection Privee, I’m looking at you!).

      • Completely, I have a daunting 100ml bottle of Cuir Ottoman, and whilst I love it, I can never see myself getting through it – same goes for Sables, I keep giving away decants of the stuff just to get through it! Haha. Oooooh I keep eyeing up the Dior Privee, I just don’t know if I like one of them enough yet D:

  5. Enjoyed this review Freddie, thanks. Looking forward to trying it now. Sometimes you just want something that feels uncomplicated and easy to wear.

    • Thanks Lila! I still think about this from time to time and would love a bottle in the near future.
      Hope you’ve been keeping well and really want to make it to one of the PLL events soon! :( I miss it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 237 other followers

