JAR – Golconda & Diamond Water

Golconda opens with a rich, heavily spiced (clove-laden) carnation, paired with a hint of banana-ry ylang ylang, and indolic jasmine. The carnation dominates obviously, warm, peppered, with a hit-the-back-of-your-throat spicy dust. I get an ever so slightly candied citrus, like a lemon drop, brightening up the top, and the texture reminds me of the carnation in Guerlain’s Terracotta Voile D’Ete, only de-sweetened slightly by the lack of vanilla and amplified in it’s clove accords.

There really is little more to say about Golconda – it is definitely a lovely carnation fragrance (a note I am surprisingly, slowly growing fond of) – and if you get on with the flower, then Golconda is one of the easiest fragrances to like in the JAR lineup, along with Diamond Water…
A linear, rich, sweet/spicy carnation with great clarity in its heart and a warm dry wood in the base. Lovely and simple.

A carnation yet again, but with a little more to it. Diamond Water opens with a subtle coconut note, and maybe even a hit of lime – it’s rich and tropical but with a sour translucency that keeps it in the distance and definitely not what stands out most. A creamy white floral of tuberose joins in, bringing with it the carnation. The carnation has a much cooler temperature, and much less clove. It is a soft, subtly peppered floral and the tuberose (which has been blended with a very light hand) smooths out the rough edges.

Diamond water is exceptionally quiet on my skin, and as the lime and coconut begin to retreat (but amazingly don’t seem to disappear for numerous hours), the carnation becomes more dominant, but quieter, and prettier than Golconda. The base is extremely subtle, a tiny bit of smoke (incense?) and a smooth wood (sandalwood?) are scrubbed up to a point where they hardly exist.
The tropical treatment of the floral is really unusual. I adore the smell of the coconut and sour lime paired with the spicy carnation, but it is so soft and rounded that it comes across as a little TOO easy to like. Diamond Water is a very nice perfume, but it’s not amazing. It JUST gets away with being classified as unusual.

JAR Golconda 30ml $$$$
JAR Diamond Water 30ml $$$$

Tagged , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “JAR – Golconda & Diamond Water

  1. Interesting, I would never had thought of the combination of carnation and coconut.

  2. Undina says:

    I like carnation as a note in perfumes. Maybe some day I’ll test these. Meanwhile I’ll enjoy your review :)

    • Thanks Undina. I’ve been exloring carnation a bit more – recently got Bandit which to me is heavy on the carnation. Desperate for the Guerlain I mentioned in the write up. These two are very nice, but Golconda IMO is desperately overpriced for a carnation soliflore. I prefer the Diamond Water, I just wish it was a lot louder – you really have to press your nose against it to smell it. I keep trying to avoid reviewing these though – I’m pretty sure I’ll come back with one after my vacation at the end of the year, Jarling won’t leave my mind :| !

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 232 other followers

